2 Introduction to CSS2

2.1 A brief CSS2 tutorial for HTML

In this tutorial, we show how easy it can be to design simple style sheets. For this tutorial, you will need to know a little HTML (see [HTML40]) and some basic desktop publishing terminology.

We begin with a small HTML document:

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0//EN">
<HTML>
  <HEAD>
  <TITLE>Bach's home page</TITLE>
  </HEAD>
  <BODY>
    <H1>Bach's home page</H1>
    <P>Johann Sebastian Bach was a prolific composer.
  </BODY>
</HTML>

To set the text color of the H1 elements to blue, you can write the following CSS rule:

  H1 { color: blue }

A CSS rule consists of two main parts: selector ('H1') and declaration ('color: blue'). The declaration has two parts: property ('color') and value ('blue'). While the example above tries to influence only one of the properties needed for rendering an HTML document, it qualifies as a style sheet on its own. Combined with other style sheets (one fundamental feature of CSS is that style sheets are combined) it will determine the final presentation of the document.

The HTML 4.0 specification defines how style sheet rules may be specified for HTML documents: either within the HTML document, or via an external style sheet. To put the style sheet into the document, use the STYLE element:

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0//EN">
<HTML>
  <HEAD>
  <TITLE>Bach's home page</TITLE>
  <STYLE type="text/css">
    H1 { color: blue }
  </STYLE>
  </HEAD>
  <BODY>
    <H1>Bach's home page</H1>
    <P>Johann Sebastian Bach was a prolific composer.
  </BODY>
</HTML>

For maximum flexibility, we recommend that authors specify external style sheets; they may be changed without modifying the source HTML document, and they may be shared among several documents. To link to an external style sheet, you can use the LINK element:

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0//EN">
<HTML>
  <HEAD>
  <TITLE>Bach's home page</TITLE>
  <LINK rel="stylesheet" href="https://www.gaudry.be/en/css-rf-bach.css" type="text/css">
  </HEAD>
  <BODY>
    <H1>Bach's home page</H1>
    <P>Johann Sebastian Bach was a prolific composer.
  </BODY>
</HTML>

The LINK element specifies:

  • the type of link: to a "stylesheet".
  • the location of the style sheet via the "ref" attribute.
  • the type of style sheet being linked: "text/css".

To show the close relationship between a style sheet and the structured markup, we continue to use the STYLE element in this tutorial. Let's add more colors:

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0//EN">
<HTML>
  <HEAD>
  <TITLE>Bach's home page</TITLE>
  <STYLE type="text/css">
    BODY { color: red }
    H1 { color: blue }
  </STYLE>
  </HEAD>
  <BODY>
    <H1>Bach's home page</H1>
    <P>Johann Sebastian Bach was a prolific composer.
  </BODY>
</HTML>

The style sheet now contains two rules: the first one sets the color of the BODY element to 'red', while the second one sets the color of the H1 element to 'blue'. Since no color value has been specified for the P element, it will inherit the color from its parent element, namely BODY. The H1 element is also a child element of BODY but the second rule overrides the inherited value. In CSS there are often such conflicts between different values, and this specification describes how to resolve them.

CSS2 has more than 100 different properties, including 'color'. Let's look at some of the others:

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0//EN">
<HTML>
  <HEAD>
  <TITLE>Bach's home page</TITLE>
  <STYLE type="text/css">
    BODY { 
      font-family: "Gill Sans", sans-serif;
      font-size: 12pt;
      margin: 3em; 
    }
  </STYLE>
  </HEAD>
  <BODY>
    <H1>Bach's home page</H1>
    <P>Johann Sebastian Bach was a prolific composer.
  </BODY>
</HTML>

The first thing to notice is that several declarations are grouped within a block enclosed by curly braces ({...}), and separated by semicolons, though the last declaration may also be followed by a semicolon.

The first declaration on the BODY element sets the font family to "Gill Sans". If that font isn't available, the user agent (often referred to as a "browser") will use the 'sans-serif' font family which is one of five generic font families which all users agents know. Child elements of BODY will inherit the value of the 'font-family' property.

The second declaration sets the font size of the BODY element to 12 points. The "point" unit is commonly used in print-based typography to indicate font sizes and other length values. It's an example of an absolute unit which does not scale relative to the environment.

The third declaration uses a relative unit which scales with regard to its surroundings. The "em" unit refers to the font size of the element. In this case the result is that the margins around the BODY element are three times wider than the font size.

2.2 A brief CSS2 tutorial for XML

CSS can be used with any structured document format, for example with applications of the eXtensible Markup Language [XML10]. In fact, XML depends more on style sheets than HTML, since authors can make up their own elements that user agents don't know how to display.

Here is a simple XML fragment:

<ARTICLE>
  <HEADLINE>Fredrick the Great meets Bach</HEADLINE>
  <AUTHOR>Johann Nikolaus Forkel</AUTHOR>
  <PARA>
    One evening, just as he was getting his 
    <INSTRUMENT>flute</INSTRUMENT> ready and his
    musicians were assembled, an officer brought him a list of
    the strangers who had arrived.
  </PARA>
</ARTICLE>

To display this fragment in a document-like fashion, we must first declare which elements are inline-level (i.e., do not cause line breaks) and which are block-level (i.e., cause line breaks).

INSTRUMENT { display: inline }
ARTICLE, HEADLINE, AUTHOR, PARA { display: block }

The first rule declares INSTRUMENT to be inline and the second rule, with its comma-separated list of selectors, declares all the other elements to be block-level.

One proposal for linking a style sheet to an XML document is to use a processing instruction:

<?XML:stylesheet type="text/css" href="https://www.gaudry.be/en/css-rf-bach.css"?>
<ARTICLE>
  <HEADLINE>Fredrick the Great meets Bach</HEADLINE>
  <AUTHOR>Johann Nikolaus Forkel</AUTHOR>
  <PARA>
    One evening, just as he was getting his 
    <INSTRUMENT>flute</INSTRUMENT> ready and his
    musicians were assembled, an officer brought him a list of
    the strangers who had arrived.
  </PARA>
</ARTICLE>

A visual user agent could format the above example as:

Example rendering   [D]

Notice that the word "flute" remains within the paragraph since it is the content of the inline element INSTRUMENT.

Still, the text isn't formatted the way you would expect. For example, the headline font size should be larger than then rest of the text, and you may want to display the author's name in italic:

INSTRUMENT { display: inline }
ARTICLE, HEADLINE, AUTHOR, PARA { display: block }
HEADLINE { font-size: 1.3em }
AUTHOR { font-style: italic }
ARTICLE, HEADLINE, AUTHOR, PARA { margin: 0.5em }

A visual user agent could format the above example as:

Example rendering   [D]

Adding more rules to the style sheet will allow you to further improve the presentation of the document.

2.3 The CSS2 processing model

This section presents one possible model of how user agents that support CSS work. This is only a conceptual model; real implementations may vary.

In this model, a user agent processes a source by going through the following steps:

  1. Parse the source document and create a document tree.
  2. Identify the target media type.
  3. Retrieve all style sheets associated with the document that are specified for the target media type.
  4. Annotate every element of the document tree by assigning a single value to every property that is applicable to the target media type. Properties are assigned values according to the mechanisms described in the section on cascading and inheritance.

    Part of the calculation of values depends on the formatting algorithm appropriate for the target media type. For example, if the target medium is the screen, user agents apply the visual formatting model. If the destination medium is the printed page, user agents apply the page model. If the destination medium is an aural rendering device (e.g., speech synthesizer), user agents apply the aural rendering model.

  5. From the annotated document tree, generate a formatting structure. Often, the formatting structure closely resembles the document tree, but it may also differ significantly, notably when authors make use of pseudo-elements and generated content. First, the formatting structure need not be "tree-shaped" at all -- the nature of the structure depends on the implementation. Second, the formatting structure may contain more or less information than the document tree. For instance, if an element in the document tree has a value of 'none' for the 'display' property, that element will generate nothing in the formatting structure. A list element, on the other hand, may generate more information in the formatting structure: the list element's content and list style information (e.g., a bullet image).

    Note that the CSS user agent does not alter the document tree during this phase. In particular, content generated due to style sheets is not fed back to the document language processor (e.g., for reparsing).

  6. Transfer the formatting structure to the target medium (e.g., print the results, display them on the screen, render them as speech, etc.).

Step 1 lies outside the scope of this specification (see, for example, [DOM]).

Steps 2-5 are addressed by the bulk of this specification.

Step 6 lies outside the scope of this specification.

2.3.1 The canvas

For all media, the term canvas describes "the space where the formatting structure is rendered." The canvas is infinite for each dimension of the space, but rendering generally occurs within a finite region of the canvas, established by the user agent according to the target medium. For instance, user agents rendering to a screen generally impose a minimum width and choose an initial width based on the dimensions of the viewport. User agents rendering to a page generally impose width and height constraints. Aural user agents may impose limits in audio space, but not in time.

2.3.2 CSS2 addressing model

CSS2 selectors and properties allow style sheets to refer to the following parts of a document or user agent:

  • Elements in the document tree and certain relationships between them (see the section on selectors).
  • Attributes of elements in the document tree, and values of those attributes (see the section on attribute selectors).
  • Some parts of element content (see the :first-line and :first-letter pseudo-elements.
  • Elements of the document tree when they are in a certain state (see the section on pseudo-classes).
  • Some aspects of the canvas where the document will be rendered.
  • Some system information (see the section on user interface).

2.4 CSS design principles

CSS2, as CSS1 before it, is based on a set of design principles:

  • Forward and backward compatibility. CSS2 user agents will be able to understand CSS1 style sheets. CSS1 user agents will be able to read CSS2 style sheets and discard parts they don't understand. Also, user agents with no CSS support will be able to display style-enhanced documents. Of course, the stylistic enhancements made possible by CSS will not be rendered, but all content will be presented.

  • Complementary to structured documents. Style sheets complement structured documents (e.g., HTML and XML applications), providing stylistic information for the marked-up text. It should be easy to change the style sheet with little or no impact on the markup.

  • Vendor, platform, and device independence. Style sheets enable documents to remain vendor, platform, and device independent. Style sheets themselves are also vendor and platform independent, but CSS2 allows you to target a style sheet for a group of devices (e.g., printers).

  • Maintainability. By pointing to style sheets from documents, webmasters can simplify site maintenance and retain consistent look and feel throughout the site. For example, if the organization's background color changes, only one file needs to be changed.

  • Simplicity. CSS2 is more complex than CSS1, but it remains a simple style language which is human readable and writable. The CSS properties are kept independent of each other to the largest extent possible and there is generally only one way to achieve a certain effect.

  • Network performance. CSS provides for compact encodings of how to present content. Compared to images or audio files, which are often used by authors to achieve certain rendering effects, style sheets most often decrease the content size. Also, fewer network connections have to be opened which further increases network performance.

  • Flexibility. CSS can be applied to content in several ways. The key feature is the ability to cascade style information specified in the default (user agent) style sheet, user style sheets, linked style sheets, the document head, and in attributes for the elements forming the document body.

  • Richness. Providing authors with a rich set of rendering effects increases the richness of the Web as a medium of expression. Designers have been longing for functionality commonly found in desktop publishing and slide-show applications. Some of the requested rendering effects conflict with device independence, but CSS2 goes a long way toward granting designers their requests.

  • Alternative language bindings. The set of CSS properties described in this specification form a consistent formatting model for visual and aural presentations. This formatting model can be accessed through the CSS language, but bindings to other languages are also possible. For example, a JavaScript program may dynamically change the value of a certain element's 'color' property.

  • Accessibility. Several CSS features will make the Web more accessible to users with disabilities:

    • Properties to control font appearance allow authors to eliminate inaccessible bit-mapped text images.
    • Positioning properties allow authors to eliminate mark-up tricks (e.g., invisible images) to force layout.
    • The semantics of !important rules mean that users with particular presentation requirements can override the author's style sheets.
    • The new 'inherit' value for all properties improves cascading generality and allows for easier and more consistent style tuning.
    • Improved media support, including media groups and the braille, embossed, and tty media types, will allow users and authors to tailor pages to those devices.
    • Aural properties give control over voice and audio output.
    • The attribute selectors, 'attr()' function, and 'content' property give access to alternate content.
    • Counters and section/paragraph numbering can improve document navigability and save on indenting spacing (important for braille devices). The 'word-spacing' and 'text-indent' properties also eliminate the need for extra whitespace in the document.

    Note. For more information about designing accessible documents using CSS and HTML, please consult [WAI-PAGEAUTH].


Haut

Document created the 04/02/2006, last modified the 26/10/2018
Source of the printed document:https://www.gaudry.be/en/css-rf-intro.html

The infobrol is a personal site whose content is my sole responsibility. The text is available under CreativeCommons license (BY-NC-SA). More info on the terms of use and the author.

References

  1. View the nbsp;document Language of the document:en CSS specifications : https://www.w3.org

These references and links indicate documents consulted during the writing of this page, or which may provide additional information, but the authors of these sources can not be held responsible for the content of this page.
The author This site is solely responsible for the way in which the various concepts, and the freedoms that are taken with the reference works, are presented here. Remember that you must cross multiple source information to reduce the risk of errors.

Contents Haut

Spécifications CSS


2 Introduction à CSS2

2.1 Un bref tutoriel de CSS2 pour HTML

Nous allons montrer dans ce tutoriel combien il est facile de réaliser des feuilles de style simples. Pour cela, vous devrez connaître un peu HTML (voir [HTML40]) et une terminologie de base de l'impression numérique.

Commençons par un petit document HTML :

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0//EN">
<HTML>
  <HEAD>
  <TITLE>La page personnelle de Bach</TITLE>
  </HEAD>
  <BODY>
    <H1>La page personnelle de Bach</H1>
    <P>Jean-Sébastien Bach était un compositeur prolifique.
  </BODY>
</HTML>

Pour rendre la couleur du texte des éléments H1 bleu, vous pouvez écrire la règle de feuille de style suivante :

  H1 { color: blue }

Une règle CSS consiste en deux parties principales : un sélecteur ('H1') et une déclaration ('color: blue'). Celle-ci se compose à son tour de deux parties : une propriété ('color') et une valeur ('blue'). Bien que cet exemple n'agisse que sur une seule des propriétés nécessaires au rendu d'un document HTML, cela suffit pour qu'elle soit qualifiée de feuille de style. Combinée avec d'autres feuilles de styles (la combinaison de feuilles de style est une fonction fondamentale des CSS), elle agira sur la présentation finale du document.

La spécification HTML 4.0 définit la façon de relier les feuilles de style à un documents HTML : soit par incorporation dans celui-ci, soit par appel à une feuille de style externe. Pour l'incorporation, on utilise l'élément STYLE :

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0//EN">
<HTML>
  <HEAD>
  <TITLE>La page personnelle de Bach</TITLE>
  <STYLE type="text/css">
    H1 { color: blue }
  </STYLE>
  </HEAD>
  <BODY>
    <H1>La page personnelle de Bach</H1>
    <P>Jean-Sébastien Bach était un compositeur prolifique.
  </BODY>
</HTML>

Pour une souplesse d'utilisation maximale, on recommande aux auteurs l'usage de feuilles de style externes. On peut en changer sans modifier la source HTML du document et les partager entre plusieurs documents. Pour faire le lien vers une feuille de style externe, on emploie l'élément LINK :

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0//EN">
<HTML>
  <HEAD>
  <TITLE>La page personnelle de Bach</TITLE>
  <LINK rel="stylesheet" href="css-rf-bach.css" type="text/css">
  </HEAD>
  <BODY>
    <H1>La page personnelle de Bach</H1>
    <P>Jean-Sébastien Bach était un compositeur prolifique.
  </BODY>
</HTML>

L'élément LINK spécifie :

  • le type de lien : vers une "feuille de style".
  • la location de celle-ci au travers de l'attribut "href"
  • le type de la feuille de style liée : "text/css".

Pour montrer la relation étroite entre feuille de style et balisage structuré, nous utiliserons l'élément STYLE pour ce tutoriel. Ajoutons des couleurs :

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0//EN">
<HTML>
  <HEAD>
  <TITLE>La page personnelle de Bach</TITLE>
  <STYLE type="text/css">
    BODY { color: red }
    H1 { color: blue }
  </STYLE>
  </HEAD>
  <BODY>
    <H1>La page personnelle de Bach</H1>
    <P>Jean-Sébastien Bach était un compositeur prolifique.
  </BODY>
</HTML>

Deux règles composent maintenant la feuille de style : la première spécifie la couleur rouge ('red') pour l'élément BODY et la seconde la couleur bleu ('blue') pour l'élément H1. Comme aucune valeur de couleur n'est spécifiée pour l'élément P, celui-ci hérite de la couleur de son élément parent, ici BODY. L'élément H1 est aussi un élément enfant de BODY, mais la seconde règle prévaut sur la valeur héritée. En CSS il y a souvent de tels conflits entre différentes valeurs, cette spécification décrit leur résolution.

CSS2 comporte plus de 100 propriétés différentes, dont 'color'. Voyons quelques-unes d'entre elles :

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0//EN">
<HTML>
  <HEAD>
  <TITLE>La page personnelle de Bach</TITLE>
  <STYLE type="text/css">
    BODY { 
      font-family: "Gill Sans", sans-serif;
      font-size: 12pt;
      margin: 3em; 
    }
  </STYLE>
  </HEAD>
  <BODY>
    <H1>La page personnelle de Bach</H1>
    <P>Jean-Sébastien Bach était un compositeur prolifique.
  </BODY>
</HTML>

En premier lieu, on remarque plusieurs déclarations qui sont réunies à l'intérieur d'un bloc délimité par des accolades ({...}), qu'elles sont séparées par des points-virgules (;), la dernière pouvant aussi se terminer par un point-virgule.

La première déclaration sur l'élément BODY spécifie la famille de police "Gill Sans". Si celle-ci n'était pas disponible, l'agent utilisateur (souvent un "navigateur") utilisera la famille de polices 'sans-serif' qui est l'une des cinq familles de polices génériques reconnues pour chacun des agents utilisateurs. Les éléments enfants de BODY héritent de la valeur de la propriété 'font-family'.

La seconde déclaration fixe la taille de la police de BODY à 12 points. L'unité "point" est couramment employée en typographie d'impression pour mesurer le corps d'une police et d'autres longueurs. C'est un exemple d'unité absolue qui ne varie pas en fonction de l'environnement.

La troisième déclaration s'appuie sur une unité relative qui varie en fonction de son entourage. L'unité "em" se réfère à la taille de la police de l'élément. Le résultat, dans ce cas, sera que les marges autour de l'élément BODY seront trois fois plus grandes que la taille de la police.

2.2 Un bref tutoriel de CSS2 pour XML

On peut utiliser CSS avec chaque format de document structuré, par exemple avec des applications de eXtensible Markup Language [XML10]. En fait, XML est plus dépendant des feuilles de style que HTML, car les auteurs peuvent introduire des éléments propres que les agents utilisateurs ne savent pas interpréter.

Voici un fragment XML simple :

<ARTICLE>
  <HEADLINE>La rencontre de Frédéric le Grand et de Bach</HEADLINE>
  <AUTHOR>Johann Nikolaus Forkel</AUTHOR>
  <PARA>
    Un soir, alors qu'il préparait sa
    <INSTRUMENT>flûte</INSTRUMENT> et que ses
    musiciens étaient réunis, un officier lui apporta
    la liste des étrangers qui venaient d'arriver.
  </PARA>
</ARTICLE>

Pour rendre ce fragment à la manière d'un document, nous devons d'abord déclarer lesquels de ces éléments sont de type en-ligne (c.-à-d. qui ne provoquent pas de fins de lignes) et de type bloc (c.-à-d. qui provoquent des fins de lignes).

INSTRUMENT { display: inline }
ARTICLE, HEADLINE, AUTHOR, PARA { display: block }

La première règle stipule que INSTRUMENT est de type en-ligne et la seconde, avec une liste de sélecteurs séparés par des virgules, que tous les autres éléments sont de type bloc.

Pour lier une feuille de style à un document XML, l'une des propositions consiste à utiliser une instruction de traitement :

<?XML:stylesheet <?xml-stylesheet type="text/css" href="css-rf-bach.css"?>
<ARTICLE>
  <HEADLINE>La rencontre de Frédéric le Grand et de Bach</HEADLINE>
  <AUTHOR>Johann Nikolaus Forkel</AUTHOR>
  <PARA>
    Un soir, alors qu'il préparait sa
    <INSTRUMENT>flûte</INSTRUMENT> et que ses
    musiciens étaient réunis, un officier lui apporta
    la liste des étrangers qui venaient d'arriver.
  </PARA>
</ARTICLE>

Ce qu'un agent visuel pourrait rendre par :

Exemple de rendu.   [D]

Remarquer que le mot "flûte" reste dans le paragraphe puisqu'il s'agit du contenu de l'élément de type en-ligne INSTRUMENT.

Cependant, le texte n'est pas formaté de la façon souhaitée. Par exemple, le corps de la police du titre devrait être plus grand que celui du reste du texte et aussi le nom de l'auteur pourrait être en italique :

INSTRUMENT { display: inline }
ARTICLE, HEADLINE, AUTHOR, PARA { display: block }
HEADLINE { font-size: 1.3em }
AUTHOR { font-style: italic }
ARTICLE, HEADLINE, AUTHOR, PARA { margin: 0.5em }

Ce qu'un agent visuel pourrait rendre ainsi :

Exemple de rendu.   [D]

Plus on ajoute de règles à la feuille de style, plus on peut améliorer la présentation du document.

2.3 Le modèle de traitement de CSS2

Ce chapitre présente un modèle de fonctionnement possible pour un agent supportant CSS. Ce n'est qu'un modèle conceptuel, les implémentations effectives pouvant varier.

Dans ce modèle l'agent utilisateur traite une source en parcourant les étapes suivantes :

  1. Parcourir le document source en créant un arbre de ce document.
  2. Identifier le type de média cible.
  3. Rechercher toutes les feuilles de style associées au document et spécifiées pour le type de média cible.
  4. Annoter chacun des éléments de l'arbre du document et assigner une valeur unique à chacune des propriétés en rapport avec le type de média cible. On assigne des valeurs aux propriétés selon le mécanisme décrit dans le chapitre sur la cascade et l'héritage.

    Le calcul de ces valeurs dépend en partie du choix de l'algorithme de formatage approprié au type de média cible. Par exemple, si le média cible est un écran, les agents utilisateurs appliquent le modèle de formatage visuel. Si le média de destination est une page à imprimer, ils appliquent le modèle de la page. S'il s'agit d'un appareil de rendu auditif (ex. synthétiseur de parole), ils appliquent alors le modèle pour un rendu auditif.

  5. Générer une structure de formatage à partir de l'arbre annoté du document. Souvent, la structure de formatage ressemble beaucoup à celle de l'arbre du document, mais elle peut aussi en différer de façon significative, notamment quand les auteurs font usage de pseudo-éléments et de contenu généré. Premièrement, il n'est pas indispensable que la structure de formatage revête "l'aspect d'un arbre", la nature de la structure dépendant de l'implémentation. Deuxièmement, la structure de formatage peut contenir plus ou moins d'informations que l'arbre du document. Par exemple, si la propriété 'display' d'un élément de l'arbre a la valeur 'none', cet élément ne génèrera rien dans la structure de formatage. À l'inverse, un élément de liste peut générer plus d'informations : le contenu de l'élément de liste et l'information de son style (ex. une puce, une image).

    Noter que le client CSS ne modifie pas l'arbre du document pendant cette phase. En particulier, le contenu généré par les feuilles de styles ne repasse pas dans le processeur du langage du document (ex. pour un nouveau traitement).

  6. Transférer la structure de formatage vers le média cible (ex. imprimer le résultat, l'afficher sur un écran, le transformer en parole, etc.).

L'étape 1 n'entre pas dans le cadre de cette spécification (voir, par exemple, [DOM]).

Les étapes 2 à 5 constituent le principal objet de cette spécification.

L'étape 6 n'entre pas non plus dans ce cadre.

2.3.1 Le canevas

Quel que soit le média, le terme canevas désigne "l'espace dans lequel s'inscrit la structure de formatage". Le canevas est infini pour chacune des dimensions de cet espace, mais le rendu a lieu généralement dans une région finie du canevas. Celle-ci est établie par l'agent utilisateur selon le média cible. Ainsi, un rendu sur écran impose en général aux agents utilisateurs une largeur minimum qui est initialement déterminée à partir de la zone de visualisation. Un rendu sur une page leur impose des contraintes de largeur et de hauteur. Les agents utilisateurs auditifs peuvent imposer des limites dans un espace sonore mais pas dans le temps.

2.3.2 Le modèle d'adressage de CSS2

Grâce aux sélecteurs et propriétés de CSS2, les feuilles de style permettent une référence aux parties d'un document ou d'un agent utilisateur, soit :

  • aux éléments dans l'arbre du document et certaines de leurs relations (voir le chapitre sur les sélecteurs) ;
  • aux attributs des éléments dans l'arbre du document et leurs valeurs (voir le chapitre sur les sélecteurs d'attributs) ;
  • à certaines parties du contenu d'un élément (voir les pseudo-éléments :first-line et :first-letter) ;
  • aux éléments de l'arbre du document qui sont dans un état donné (voir le chapitre sur les pseudo-classes) ;
  • à certains aspects du canevas où interviendra le rendu du document ;
  • à certaines informations du système (voir le chapitre sur l'interface utilisateur).

2.4 Les principes de construction de CSS

CSS2, comme CSS1 avant lui, est fondé sur un ensemble de principes de construction :

  • Compatibilité ascendante et descendante. Les agents utilisateurs seront capable d'interpréter des feuilles de style CSS1. Dans l'autre sens, les agents utilisateurs CSS1 seront capables de lire une feuille de style CSS2 en passant outre les instructions qui leur seront inconnues. Également, ceux qui n'ont aucun support des feuilles de style seront capables d'afficher les documents pourvus de style. Bien sûr, les améliorations liées au style ne seront pas rendues, mais tout le contenu sera présenté ;

  • Complémentarité avec les documents structurés. Les feuilles de style complètent les documents structurés (exp. HTML et XML) en fournissant des informations de style au texte balisé. Un changement dans la feuille de style ne devrait avoir que peu ou pas d'impact sur le balisage ;

  • Indépendance vis-à-vis de l'éditeur, de la plateforme ou de l'appareil. Les feuilles de style autorisent une indépendance des documents vis-à-vis de l'éditeur, la plateforme et l'appareil, cependant CSS2 permet de produire une feuille de style pour un groupe d'appareils (ex. imprimantes) ;

  • Facilité de maintenance. Lier des feuilles de style en partant des documents peut simplifier le travail de maintenance des webmestres tout en conservant un aspect consistant pour l'ensemble du site. Par exemple, s'il faut changer la couleur de fond liée à l'identité d'une organisation, un seul fichier doit être modifié ;

  • Simplicité. Bien que CSS2 soit plus complexe que CSS1, il s'agit d'un langage de style, simple et facile à lire et à écrire. Les propriétés de style sont suffisamment indépendantes les unes des autres en général pour qu'un effet donné ne puisse être produit que d'une seule façon ;

  • Performance du réseau. CSS fournit un moyen compact pour la représentation d'un contenu. Comparé aux fichiers images ou audio, souvent employés par les auteurs pour obtenir certains effets de rendu, les feuilles de style diminuent la plupart du temps la taille des fichiers. Aussi, les connexions au réseau sont moins nombreuses, ce qui augmente d'autant les performances de celui-ci ;

  • Flexibilité. On peut donner du style à un contenu de plusieurs manières. La fonction clé réside dans la possibilité de modifier en cascade les informations de style spécifiées dans la feuille de style par défaut (de l'agent utilisateur), les feuilles de style de l'utilisateur, les feuilles de style liées, l'en-tête du document et dans les attributs des éléments formant le corps du document ;

  • Richesse. En donnant aux auteurs un jeu étendu d'effets de représentation, on accroît la richesse du Web en tant que moyen d'expression. Les auteurs étaient dans l'attente de fonctionnalités qui étaient communes dans les applications de publication numérique et de présentation. Quelques-uns des effets de rendu demandés ne satisfont pas au principe d'indépendance vis-à-vis des appareils, cependant CSS2 répond pour une grande part aux espérances des auteurs ;

  • Corrélations avec d'autres langages. Les propriétés décrites par cette spécification forment un jeu consistant pour le modèle de formatage des présentations visuelles et auditives. Le langage CSS permet d'accéder à ce modèle mais les corrélations avec d'autres langages sont aussi possibles. Par exemple, un programme JavaScript peut changer de façon dynamique la valeur de la propriété 'color' d'un élément donné ;

  • Accessibilité. Plusieurs fonctions de CSS faciliteront l'accès au Web des utilisateurs avec des handicaps divers :

    • Avec les propriétés jouant sur l'apparence des polices, il est permis aux auteurs de ne plus recourir à du texte placé dans des images bitmap, qui est alors inaccessible ;
    • Les propriétés de positionnement leur permettent de ne plus avoir à utiliser d'astuces de balisage (ex. les images invisibles) pour forcer la mise en page ;
    • Les utilisateurs qui ont des besoins de présentation particuliers peuvent remplacer les feuilles de style de l'auteur, c'est le sens des règles !important ;
    • La nouvelle valeur 'inherit' pour chacune des propriétés renforce le caractère général de la cascade et autorise des ajustements de style plus faciles et cohérents ;
    • Grâce à l'amélioration du support aux médias, que ce soit les groupes de médias ou les types de média braille, en relief ou tty, les utilisateurs et auteurs pourront avoir des pages adaptées à ces appareils ;
    • Les propriétés auditives permettent de contrôler les sorties voix et audio ;
    • Les sélecteurs d'attribut, la fonction 'attr()' et la propriété 'content' donnent un accès à d'autres versions du contenu ;
    • Les compteurs et le numérotage de chapitre/paragraphe peuvent améliorer la navigation dans le document et économiser sur l'espace des alinéas (important pour les appareils braille). Les propriétés 'word-spacing' et 'text-indent' éliminent le besoin de rajouter des caractères blancs dans le document.

    Remarque : Pour de plus amples informations sur la façon de produire des documents accessibles avec CSS et HTML, consulter [WAI-PAGEAUTH].


Ces informations proviennent du site de http://www.yoyodesign.org

Réseaux sociaux

Vous pouvez modifier vos préférences dans votre profil pour ne plus afficher les interactions avec les réseaux sociaux sur ces pages.

 

Nuage de mots clés

6 mots clés dont 0 définis manuellement (plus d'information...).

Avertissement

Cette page ne possède pas encore de mots clés manuels, ceci est donc un exemple automatique (les niveaux de pertinence sont fictifs, mais les liens sont valables). Pour tester le nuage avec une page qui contient des mots définis manuellement, vous pouvez cliquer ici.

Vous pouvez modifier vos préférences dans votre profil pour ne plus afficher le nuage de mots clés.

 

Astuce pour imprimer les couleurs des cellules de tableaux : http://www.gaudry.be/ast-rf-450.html
Aucun commentaire pour cette page

© Ce document issu de l′infobrol est enregistré sous le certificat Cyber PrInterDeposit Digital Numbertection. Enregistrement IDDN n° 5329-868
Document créé le 12/08/06 21:33, dernière modification le Mercredi 28 Juin 2017, 14:26
Source du document imprimé : http:///www.gaudry.be/css-rf-intro.html
St.Gaudry©07.01.02
Outils (masquer)
||
Recherche (afficher)
Recherche :

Utilisateur (masquer)
Apparence (afficher)
Stats (afficher)
15838 documents
455 astuces.
550 niouzes.
3107 definitions.
447 membres.
8121 messages.

Document genere en :
0,11 seconde

Mises à jour :
Mises à jour du site
Citation (masquer)
Il n’existe pas, et il n’existera jamais, de langage dans lequel il soit un tant soit peu difficile d’écrire de mauvais programmes

Anonyme
 
l'infobrol
Nous sommes le Mardi 23 Janvier 2018, 20:36, toutes les heures sont au format GMT+1.00 Heure, heure d'hiver